In 1990, the firm successfully enjoined the North Carolina Social Services Commission from enforcing two rules which had been adopted for the North Carolina State Abortion Fund in Whittington & Planned Parenthood v. N.C. Dept. of Human Resources. These rules required county Department of Social Services directors to (1) offer all Fund applicants an opportunity to personally view fetal models, and (2) report any allegation of rape or incest to local law enforcement authorities even if the applicant wished to keep such information confidential. The North Carolina Court of Appeals affirmed on the ground that the Commission was without legislative authority to promulgate the rules.

In 1993, Julius Chambers returned to North Carolina to become Chancellor at North Carolina Central University .

In Shaw v. Hunt, 517 U.S. 899 (1996), the firm represented voters who intervened in two cases to defend North Carolina's congressional redistricting plans after the 1990 Census. The plans included two districts that enabled black voters to elect candidates of their choice to Congress for the first time in the Twentieth Century. In Shaw, the Supreme Court held that the 12th Congressional District was an unconstitutional racial gerrymander, reversing the District Court which had approved the districting plan. Julius Chambers argued the case before the United States Supreme Court.

After further redistricting, the District Court, in a new case, held on summary judgment that the new 12th District was still an unconstitutional gerrymander. The Supreme Court in Hunt v. Cromartie, 526 U.S. 541 (1999), reversed, remanding the case to the District Court for trial. 

After the remand, the District Court again ruled that the 12th District was unconstitutional. On appeal, in Hunt v. Cromartie II, 532 U.S. 234 (2001), the Supreme Court again reversed, concluding that the 12th District was not an unconstitutional racial gerrymander. Adam Stein argued the case before the United States Supreme Court.

Former partner Melvin Watt has been elected to represent the 12th District in each election since its creation in 1992.